Caldo de Pollo, Just What the Doctor Ordered!

SONY DSC

This past weekend I felt it coming on… itchy throat, sneezing… yep, I’ve caught a cold. My first cold of 2013, lovely. I’m thankful it isn’t the terrible flu that is going around-but I still wish I didn’t have it. I have felt pretty bad, runny nose, then stuffed up nose. Sneezing my head off, blowing my honker day & night and now coughing up my lungs, it’s no fun.

I was feeling really crummy yesterday, then I saw a photo one of my friends from Texas had posted on her FB page. It was a picture of a nice steamy bowl of Caldo de Pollo… Chicken Soup! Yes! I knew what I was going to be making for dinner. I jumped in the shower, blew my nose one last time & headed to the store for the ingredients.

I love making Caldo de Pollo because it’s so easy. You basically throw all the ingredients in the pot and watch the magic happen. Here’s what I put in it:

Caldo de Pollo

6 chicken thighs (I removed the skin after they were done cooking)

celery, diced  (about 10-12 stalks total)

8 oz container of sliced white mushrooms

1 entire head of cabbage, chopped up

1 bag mini peeled carrots (2 lbs)

1 onion, cut into 6 chunks

8 garlic cloves, sliced up

5 large potatoes, quartered

3 ears of corn, cut in half to make 6 small ears

I brought a pot of water to a boil, then added the chicken & corn. I let it cook for about 15-20 minutes, then added everything else, except the mushrooms. After about 30 minutes, I added the mushrooms. At the same time, I removed the chicken from the pot and took the skin off of it. I then cut it into bite size pieces and returned it to the pot. Salt to taste. I then let it simmer for about another hour until it was done. I used organic ingredients, with the exception of the potatoes and the mushrooms. (I also added 1/2 an oz of Menudo Mix that I had in the spice pantry, it contained dried oregano, onion, crushed chili and lemon peel. This is the first time I have added this to me caldo- totally optional, you can omit if you want).

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC I bought a loaf of garlic bread while I was at the store, so I put that on the stove, toasted it up real good and served it with the soup. My Caldo de Pollo was just what the doctor ordered! I ate mine piping hot (it will definitely clear out the sinuses, you’ve been warned!) and will be eating more of it tonight.

I hope you will make this soup, if you do I’d love to see pics of yours! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Caldo de Pollo, Just What the Doctor Ordered!

  1. Yummy! I usually make a simpler version: boil chicken for about 30 minutes (after it started boiling), take it off the fire, strain the broth, put back on the fire. Cut chicken into pieces or strips, put aside. In a pan slightly fry sliced potatoes, carrots, onions and celery. Add them to the broth, boil on medium for about 15 minutes, add chicken, salt to taste and whatever herbs and spices and boil for another 10 on medium low. I also add small macaroni (those flower or alphabet shaped) together with chicken. My daughter calls them “wiggly worms” and she loves eating “worm” soup!
    I will try your recipe for sure!

Leave a Reply

